- 1886 Around 1886 A.H. "Shanghai"
Pierce founded the town. Mr. Pierce was a successful cattleman.
He selected a site near the geographic center of Wharton County to
build a town which he hoped would become the county seat.
- Newly formed New York Texas and
Mexico railroad granted land to build a railroad through south of town.
Mr. Pierce wanted train to stop at his headquarters so he built a
"Pierce's Station" which served as a railroad station and post office
for many years.
- 1894 Pierce had 160 acres
surveyed to become the town site. He built and named the streets, laid
out a public square, courthouse square, academy square and a cemetery.
- A church and a two story grocery store were also added.
- A grand two-story building the
Pierce hotel was built. It was a grand Twenty-two room structure built
in the Steamboat Gothic Style. The widows walk is all that is
left of the structure
which can be viewed at the site of the
structure. The staircase from the hotel is now housed in the
Danevang Danish Heritiage Museum.
- Bird watching area open to the public. Fields are flooded between October and March and there is a covered observation area.