First Sunday in October every year a fall festival is held at the community center.
- 1893 The community of Taiton dates back to 1893.
- Approximately 5 miles north of El Campo on highway 71.
- May 1895 (Approximately), a post office was formed in what was then called "Tait".
- 1896 Post Office Department
changed the name to Taiton. The post office was closed down later and
combined with other post offices.
- 1896 First school was formed. It operated until 1960 when it was merged with El Campo School District.
- "Mustang Park" was the happening
place around the turn of the twentieth century. People came to watch or
play outdoor games and listen to the "Taiton Brass Band."
- 1911 St. John Nepomocene Church
was established. The first Catholic mass was held 21 May 1912. The
present day brick church replaced the old wooden church and was
dedicated 27 April 1958. The parish hall and paving was completed in
1984 and 1985.
- 1922 First oil well was drilled.
Later the derrick was damaged during a storm and the oil well company
donated the timbers from the derrick to construct the SPJST hall in
- SPJST Taiton, Lodge #30 was formed in September 1899. Before the hall was built they met at the homes of the charter members.
- 1932 Zboril Gin.
- 1938 Naiser Filling station.
- 1940 Zboril Grocery store.
- Kubecka Store also operated in the Taiton-Jones Creek area until approximately the 1980's.
March-Third Sunday in March St. Johns Altar Society Chicken Dinner.
June-Third weekend in June (Friday and Saturday) Taiton Community Center (Scholarship) Bar-BE Q Cookoff.
October-First Sunday in October Taiton Community Center Fall Festival.
December-Second Sunday in December St Johns Oblate Club Games Party.
New Taiton Churches